Forgot your password? | Register Here

The Legacy Society

By joining The Legacy Society, your tax-free charitable donation becomes part of our Legacy Endowment Fund and helps assure the financial strength necessary for The Explorers Club to continue its long term programs. These funds are deposited in the Legacy Endowment Fund which is managed by a Trustee, in accordance with New York State Trust Law. The principal remains in the Trust and only the net income and net appreciation of the assets determined pursuant to New York law is available each year for distribution. Distributions from the Legacy Endowment Fund are dedicated to sponsoring exploration, youth scholarship grants, care and preservation of our priceless Archives, and programs prescribed by our Board of Directors.

All Members receive the 14k gold-filled Legacy Society lapel pin.

As long as there is The Explorers Club
Your name will be listed as a Member of The Legacy Society

Click Here to Download The Legacy Society Brochure

The Legacy Society Committee

Theodore M. Siouris - Chairman
George W. Gowen - Chairman, Legal Matters
Robert J. Atwater
Brian M. Boom
August “Augie” Brown
Kay Foster
Scott W. Hamilton
Brian P. Hanson
Virginia Newell
Alan H. Nichols
Walter P. Noonan
Mabel L. Purkerson


* denotes member is deceased

John G. Alexander
Robert J. Atwater
Norman L. Baker
Barbara Ballard
Robert D. Ballard, Ph.D.
Samuel B. Ballen
Mark Gregory Bayuk
Daniel A. Bennett
Josh Bernstein
Bruce Blanchard
John R. Bockstoce, D.Phil.
Bjorn G. Bolstad
Bruce M. Bongar, Ph.D.
Dr. Brian M. Boom
Garrett R. Bowden
Lawson W. Brigham, Ph.D., Capt., USCG (ret.)
Harry Davis Brooks
Jewel Richard Browder, Lt. Col., USA*
August “Augie” Brown
John C.D. Bruno
Lee R. Bynum*
Virginia Castagnola Hunter
Julianne M. Chase, Ph.D.
James M. Chester*
Arthur W. Clark, Maj. Gen., USAF (ret.)
William Clark, Capt., USA *
Steven Cohen   Ph.D. (hon.)
Leslie E. Colby
Jonathan M. Conrad
Catherine Nixon Cooke
Constance Difede
Mr. & Mrs. James Donovan
William H. Dribben, Col., USA*
Amelia Earhart*
Sylvia A. Earle, Ph.D.
Edwin L. Ecclestone Jr.
Lee M. Elman
Michael L. Finn
Robert L. Fisher, Ph.D.
John W. Flint
Joel S. Fogel
Kay Foster
James M. Fowler
W. Roger Fry
Max Gallimore
Alfred C. Glassell, Jr.
George W. Gowen
Randall A. Greene
Jean Charles Michel Guite
Robert “Rio” Hahn
Allan C. Hamilton
Scott W. Hamilton
O. Winston “Bud” Hampton, Ph.D.
Brian P. Hanson
James H. Hardy, M.D.
Ira Haupt II
Judith Heath
Robert A. Hemm
Gary D. “Doc” Hermalyn, Ed.D.
Sir Edmund P. Hillary KG, ONZ, KBE*
Lotsie Hermann Holton
L. Ron Hubbard*
Charles B. Huestis*
Robert Edgar Hyman
J.P. Morgan Charitable Trust
Robert M. Jackson, M.D.
Kenneth M. Kamler, M.D.
Prince Joli Kansil
Lorie M.L. Karnath
Anthony G. Kehle III
Anne B. Keiser
Kathryn Kiplinger
Martin Klein
Thomas R. Kuhns, M.D.
Carl C. Landegger
John R. Lawrence
Robert M. Lee
Michael S. Levin
Florence Lewisohn Trust
J. Roland Lieber
James E. Lockwood, Jr.*
Jose Loeb
John H. Loret, Ph.D., D.Sc.*
Margaret D. Lowman, Ph.D.
Michael Luzich
Daniel J. Lyons
Robert H. Malott
Leslie Mandel
Robert E. Maroney
Michele Mass, M.D.
Robert E. McCarthy*
George E. McCown
Lorus T. Milne, Ph.D.
James M. Mitchelhill*
Arnold H. Neis
Virginia E. Newell
Walter P. Noonan
Martin T. Nweeia, D.D.S.
John W. Olsen, Ph.D
Kathleen Parker
Alese & Morton Pechter
William E. Phillips
Mabel L. Purkerson, M.D.
Roland R. Puton
Dimitri Rebikoff*
Mabel Dorn Reeder*
John T. Reilly, Ph.D.
Adrian Richards, Ph.D.
Bruce E. Rippeteau, Ph.D.
Merle Greene Robertson, Ph.D.
Otto E. Roethenmund
James Beeland Rogers, Jr.
Faanya Rose
William J. Roseman
Rudy L. Ruggles, Jr.
Gene M. Rurka
David J. Saul, Ph.D.
Willets H. Sawyer III
A. Harvey Schreter*
Mr. Donald Segur
Mr. Margret Segur*
Walter Shropshire, Jr., Ph.D., M.Div.
Robert H.I. Silver
Richard T. Silver, M.D.
Theodore M. Siouris
William J.L. Sladen, M.D., D.Phil.
Susan Deborah Smilow
Mark A. Smith
Sally A. Spencer*
Ronnie & Allan Streichler
Arthur O. Sulzburger
Vernon F. Taylor III
Mitchell Terk, M.D.
C. Frederick Thompson II
James “Buddy” Thompson
Edward B. Tucker MBE
Wendy Tucker
Edmund S. Twining III
Marc Verstraete Van de Weyer
Robert C. Vaughn
Ann Marks Volkwein
Alexander Wallace
Julia M. Wallace
Don Walsh, Ph.D.
Leonard A. Weakly, Jr.
William G. Wellington, Ph.D.
James S. Westerman
Robert H. Whitby
Julius Wile*
Holly Williams
Francis A. Wodal*
Lindley Kirksey Young

For information about enrolling, please contact Executive Director
Will Roseman at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
or by US Mail:
The Legacy Society of The Explorers Club
46 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021

  • RT @newscientist: Australia has 18 months to report on how it will protect the Great Barrier Reef…
    1 hour ago
  • RT @ExplorationBlog: Petermann's map of the Open Polar Sea (via Andres Paredes Salvador)
    5 hours ago
  • Wreck of 18th century slave ship discovered…
    5 hours ago
  • Death on the Steppes: Mystery Disease Kills Saigas…
    12 hours ago
  • RT @NepalSpace: Majestic clouds at Mt Everest #Nepal via webcam… 1/2
  • Back to top
    The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

    Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste