Forgot your password? | Register Here

The 115th Explorers Club Annual Dinner

Click here for online ticketing

Including information on all ticket levels

As the 50th anniversary of Apollo 11 fast approaches, we find ourselves with a once-in-a lifetime opportunity to celebrate the pioneers of the space program. The 115th Explorers Club Annual Dinner will be a extraordinary gathering and fitting toast to all living Apollo Moonwalkers, Astronauts, and Engineers, alongside our incredible Awardees, and all those they inspired—in one room, on one night—in Times Square in New York City.

Friday, March 15

   5:00 - 6:00 pm - New Member Reception
   6:00 - 9:00 pm - Weekend Welcome Party for All Ticket Holders
      Explorers Club Headquarters

Saturday, March 16

   Morning - Saturday Activities Announcement Coming Soon!
   5:30 pm - VIP Cocktail Reception, early check-in
   6:15 pm - General Cocktail Reception, world-famous exotics & silent auction
   7:00 pm - Black Tie Awards Dinner, live auction, and surprises in store!
      The Broadway Lounge & Ballroom, Marriott Marquis Times Square

Sunday, March 17

   10:00 am - Annual Meeting - Open to Explorers Club Voting Members ONLY
   12:00 pm - Lunch
   1:00 pm - Sunday Presentations Begin
   5:00 pm - High Tea
      Explorers Club Headquarters

The Explorers Club Medal

Kenneth Lacovara, Ph.D., FN ‘03

Dr. Kenneth Lacovara has unearthed some of the largest dinosaurs ever to walk our planet, including the super-massive Dreadnoughtus. In his quest to understand these titanic creatures, Lacovara blends exploration in remote locations across the globe with the latest imaging and modeling techniques from engineering to medicine. He is the founding Dean of the School of Earth & Environment at Rowan University and Director of the Jean & Ric Edelman Fossil Park.

The Citation of Merit

Michael Eliot Barth, MI ’12
& the RCA Centennial Expedition Team

The Roy Chapman Andrews Centennial Expedition to the Gobi Desert was conceived in the spirit of Roy Chapman Andrews’ original Central Asiatic Expedition. The 35-person multi-disciplinary team is credited as being the first to apply specific NASA imaging and mapping technologies to the work of paleontological fossil prospecting.

In addition to leading this expedition, Michael Barth is the founder and current chair of the Hong Kong Chapter. Since 2013 he has worked to expand the Club’s mission and base of operations in Asia.

The Finn Ronne Memorial Award

Dr. James B. McClintock, FN ‘16

Dr. McClintock’s research focuses on aspects of marine invertebrate nutrition, reproduction, and primarily Antarctic marine chemical ecology. He is also a world authority on the impacts of rapid climate change and ocean acidification on Antarctic marine algae and invertebrates. He is the Endowed University Professor of Polar and Marine Biology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham; an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; and a Trustee of The Nature Conservancy.

The Sweeney Medal

Milbry C. Polk, FR ‘95

Milbry C. Polk has served as an elected Member of the Board of Directors since 2016. She has co-chaired multiple Annual Dinners and acts as the Reviews and Contributing Editor of The Explorers Journal. She is also a co-organizer of the Polar Film Festival and helped to establish the Explorers Club-Adventure Canada Young Explorers Program. In addition to her work for the Club, Milbry co-founded and was Executive Director of Wings WorldQuest, a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting women at the leading edge of science and discovery. She is also a prolific author – among her writings are Women of Discovery and Egyptian Mummies.

The New Explorer Award

Ian R. Mangiardi, MN ‘12

Ian Mangiardi is a Wilderness-EMT, chef, writer, and producer. He is also the founder of The Dusty Camel, a non-profit organization that consults on expedition planning at all levels. His most recent project involved orchestrating a three-week scientific expedition across the Gobi Desert using multi-spectral imaging and drone technologies in collaboration with the Institute of Paleontology and Geology to lay the foundation for the next generation of Paleontology in Mongolia.

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste