Forgot your password? | Register Here

The 2018 Lowell Thomas Awards Dinner


Thursday, October 25

•  7:00 pm - Fjällräven Explorers Club Speakers Series - Club Member Dr. Alexander More will be appearing at the Fjällräven Cambridge Store, 63 Church St. Free and open to the public.

Friday, October 26

•  6:00 pm - VIP Cocktail Party for Bunker Hill and Ticonderoga Ticket Holders, with Behind-the-Scenes Tour of the Girguis Lab
    Harvard University’s Accelerator building
    38 Oxford street
    Cambridge, MA 02138

•  7:00 pm - Cocktail Reception for Bunker Hill and Ticonderoga Ticket Holders, featuring gallery talk with Lily Simonson
    The Harvard Museums of Science & Culture
    26 Oxford St, Cambridge, MA 02138

Saturday, October 27

•  9:00 am - Morning Awardee Symposium open to all guests, check-in opens at 8:30a
    50 Vassar Street, Cambridge, MA, 02139
    M.I.T. EG&G Education Center (Building 34)

•  11:15 am - Next Generation Explorers Expo, open to all guests
    MIT Bush Building, Lobby (Building 13)

•  6:30 pm - LTAD Cocktail Reception & Silent Auction at the Museum of Science
    The Boston Museum of Science
    1 Science Park, Boston, MA 02114

•  7:30 pm - The Lowell Thomas Awards Dinner, formal dinner program begins

Sunday, October 28

•  4:00 pm - Fjällräven Explorers Club Speakers Series - Club Member Trevor Wallace will be appearing at the Fjällräven Seaport Store, 70 Seaport Blvd. Free and open to the public.

VIP Choice of Sunday Excursions, for Bunker Hill & Ticonderoga ticket holders. Guests, please contact .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for information and selections.

Click here to purchase tickets online

The Lowell Thomas Awards were first presented on the occasion of The Explorers Club’s 75th anniversary, October 17, 1980, to a group of outstanding explorers including Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov, Sylvia Earle, and Lowell Thomas himself. Since that time, the honor has been bestowed upon Buzz Aldrin, Sir Edmund Hillary, Jim Lovell, Mae Jemison, Sir David Attenborough, Chuck Yaeger, and many more.

As a community dedicated to preserving the instinct to explore, we have always valued curiosity, determination, and ingenuity. For our 2018 Lowell Thomas Awards, we celebrate individuals who have demonstrated the skills necessary to engineer groundbreaking expeditions and expeditionary science.

Our 2018 Lowell Thomas Awardees are an incredible group, including deepsea biologist Peter Girguis, aerospace biomedical engineer and space suit designer Dava Newman, groundbreaking Egyptologist Sarah Parcak, Principal Investigator of NASA's New Horizons Pluto mission Alan Stern, and Nobel prize-winning physicist Rainer Weiss.​

Held at the venerable Boston Museum of Science and featuring a weekend of events at incredible cultural institutions across the "cradle of liberty," the 2018 Lowell Thomas Awards promises to be an event guests won't soon forget.


The Royal Sonesta (40 Edwin H Land Blvd, Cambridge) is our preferred hotel for the weekend and is walking distance from the Museum of Science. Our rate starts at $269 per night, please make all reservations through the specific link below. The Club was able to extend the specialty price to include Thursday for those arriving in town early.

Click here to reserve at the Royal Sonesta

Be sure to follow us for more updates!

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste