Forgot your password? | Register Here

The Explorers Club 2016 Awards Call for Nominations

Explorers Club MedalSubmissions Deadline is Sept. 21st, 2015.

The Flag and Honors Committee invites you to nominate candidates for the Annual Awards 2016.

You may participate by nominating those who are making exceptional contributions in the fields of exploration and scientific research, and who are dedicated to the principles of The Explorers Club as set forth in Articles II and III of the By-laws. We are seeking nominations for the following awards and honors:

The Explorers Club Medal is awarded annually to a member or nonmember for “extraordinary contributions directly in the field of exploration, scientific research, or to the welfare of humanity.” Previous recipients have included Lowell Thomas, PEX ‘28; Sylvia A. Earle, HON ‘81; Kathryn D. Sullivan, HON ‘81; Don Walsh, MED ‘61; Phillip J. Currie, MED ’02; James Cameron, MED ‘03; Walter H. Munk, MED ’71; and Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ph.D.

The Edward C. Sweeney Medal is awarded annually to a Club member in recognition of distinguished service, scientific work and exploration. The nominee must have exhibited by word and action a profound interest in the welfare and principles of The Explorers Club. The candidate must have been a Club member in good standing for a minimum of five years. Previous recipients have included Catherine Nixon Cooke, MED ‘84; Harry D. Brooks, MED ‘93; Julianne Chase, Ph.D., MED ’97; Monika Rogozinska, MED ‘93; Patrick and Rosemarie Keough, MED ’02; and Bruce Blanchard, MED ’78.

The William Beebe Award is awarded to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to Underwater exploration. Previous recipients include Graham S. Hawkes; Anatoly M. Sagalevitch, D.Sc; and R. T. (Phil) Nuytten, OBC, D.Sc. (hon.), L.L.D. (hon.), FI ’85. 

The Citation of Merit is awarded annually “in recognition of an outstanding feat of exploration or services rendered to the Club.” Previous recipients include Merle G. Robertson, FN ‘90; Fredrick Selby, FE ’88; Erden Eruç, MN ’04; and Chris Nicola, FR ’04; The Apollo F-1 Engine Search and Recovery Team, led by Jeff Bezos, MN ’14; and C. William Steele, FE ’79.

The Explorers Club Awards and are intended to celebrate excellence and, except for the Sweeney Medal, are not solely limited to Explorers Club members. You are invited to submit an award nomination online, with the candidate’s curriculum vitae and exploration record at in order to submit a nomination application. We cannot accept internet search engine result pages or hyperlinks for consideration.

If you have questions please contact Emerald Nash at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

The deadline for nominations is September 21st, 2015.

Click Here for guidelines to writing quality award nominations.

Click Here for a historical perspective and fascinating listing of The Explorers Club Awards and Honors.

The 2016 Awards will be presented at The Explorers Club Annual Dinner in New York City on March 12, 2016.

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste