Forgot your password? | Register Here

Announcing the 2014 Explorers Club Annual Award Winners

The Explorers Club is delighted to announce its 2014 Medalists and Award Winners. Come celebrate the evening of March 15, 2014, at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City with seven extraordinary individuals and organizations who have furthered the field of exploration through the innovative use of technology. The list of awardees is as follows—


Professor Walter H. Munk is widely recognized as the world’s greatest living oceanographer and the father of modern oceanography. His contributions to the field span over 65 years. During WWII Professor Munk developed methods to predict surf conditions for Allied landings in North Africa, the Pacific and D-Day, and analyzed currents and water exchanges at the Bikini Atoll during US nuclear weapons tests. He is the visionary mind behind developing the La Jolla brand of the Institute of Geophysics (now part of University of California, San Diego campus) and was recently profiled in the award-winning documentary One Man’s Noise: Stories of an Adventuresome Oceanographer.


Franklin Chang Diaz is the former Director of NASA Advanced Space Propulsion Laboratory at the Johnson Space Center and is credited with the invention and patent of the “Variable Specific Impulse Magnetoplasma Rocket” (VASIMR), an ion engine that may enable human travel to Mars in just 39 days. Chang-Diaz holds the title for record number of seven spaceflights documented by the NASA Astronaut Hall of Fame, a recognition he shares with astronaut Jerry Ross. He was also the organizer of the First Space Conference of the Americas, sponsored by the United Nations and held in his home country of Costa Rica.

Planetary researcher Maria Zuber is recognized for the development of innovative mapping techniques used to study surfaces and interiors of the Earth and solid planets and is also credited with the discovery of a small metal core in the moon. She is the first woman selected by NASA to head a major planetary robotic research mission, the 2011 Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL). Zuber also led the development of laser altimeter technology in 1999 to create a Martian topographic map, known to be the most accurate and with the highest resolution for Mars at the time. She is currently the Vice President of Research at MIT and a 2013 President Obama appointee to the National Science Board.


The Apollo F-1 Search and Recovery Team is being awarded a Citation of Merit, recognizing an individual or a group for an outstanding feat of exploration or services to the Club. The Apollo F-1 team is credited with using deep-sea survey and recovery technology to locate and retrieve – from 14,000 feet of water off the Florida coast – the center F-1 engine from the Saturn S-IC rocket used to launch the Apollo 11 mission to the moon in 1969, with members and Club Medalists Michael Collins, the late Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin. The team also recovered F-1 rocket engines used to propel other Apollo Saturn V rockets into orbit. Apollo F-1 Team members include Club Fellows John Broadwater, Josh Bernstein, Vince Capone, David Concannon and Kenneth Kamler, along with John Anderson, Jeff Bezos, Rory Golden, Mike Kelly, Evan Kovacs, Jay Larsen, Bill Mills and Colin Stewart.


Internationally acclaimed photographers Pat Keough and Rosemarie Keough are focused on capturing subject matter in locations around the world that include Canada, Africa, Asia and the Polar Regions. They have received over 27 honors in the field, many for hand-bound portfolios. For the past decade, the Keoughs have hosted the Salt Springs Symposium, which gathers explorers from a variety of disciplines to share work and ideas. Through these efforts and others, they have nurtured over 300 explorers, particularly those in the early stages of their careers.


Hailed as a visionary innovator, Elon Musk is recognized for his development of cutting-edge technology revolutionizing both space exploration and sustainable transportation through his companies SpaceX and Tesla Motors.

Click here to learn more about The 110th
Explorers Club Annual Dinner

Published by : EC Staff

Bookmark and Share

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste