Forgot your password? | Register Here


Culinary Curiosities Featured
From the Four Corners of the World
Saturday, March 17, 2012, Waldorf=Astoria, New York

NEW YORK, N.Y.  (Mar. 5, 2012) – Explorers are a hardy bunch, often required to improvise when the evening meal is often some unusual creature scurrying along the trail. Thus it’s likely over 1,000 of the world’s foremost explorers and adventurers will feel right at home at New York’s Waldorf=Astoria on Mar. 17 when they snack on over 30 sustainable, non-endangered appetizers reminiscent of their time in the wild.

The 2012 Explorers Club Annual Dinner (ECAD) will include “Culinary Curiosities” from the far corners of the world, ranging from Moroccan Spiced Goat, Ostrich Coq Au Vin, and Herb Roasted Kangaroo, to Python Patties, and Stir Fry Jelly Fish.

The menu for these most unusual hors d’oeuvres all come from sustainable species that have been raised for consumption as an alternative highly nutritive food source.

Strange foods are just one highlight of ECAD which is themed “How Far Is Far: Remote Exploration,” and will focus on “how technology has broadened the ability to explore the world and beyond, redefining man’s conception of what’s truly remote,” notes Lorie Karnath, president of The Explorers Club.

Keynote speaker is Ken Burns (The Civil War, Lewis & Clark, The National Parks), who has been named one of the most influential documentary filmmakers of all time by Realscreen magazine. He will be joined on the dais by master of ceremonies Robin Esrock, creator, writer and co-host of Word Travels, a 40-part adventure series seen in over 100 countries and 18 languages.

Every year, some of the most accomplished mountaineers, deep ocean explorers, astronauts, scientists, archaeologists and other kindred spirits gather in New York at ECAD to honor extraordinary luminaries of exploration. Previous guests have included Sir Edmund Hillary, Thor Heyerdahl, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin. This year, seven men and women have been chosen to receive awards and medals from The Explorers Club:

The Explorers Medal - Philip J. Currie, Ph.D., L.L.D. (hon.), FI’02
The Explorers Medal - Alfred S. McLaren, Capt., USN (Ret.), Ph.D.,    FE’71
The Edward C. Sweeney Medal - Julianne M. Chase, Ph.D., FR’97
The Citation of Merit - Frederick P. Selby, FE’88
The Citation of Merit - Susan D. Shaw, Dr. P.H., FN’07
The William Beebe Award - R. T. (Phil) Nuytten, OBC, D.Sc. (hon.),    L.L.D. (hon.), FI’85
The Explorers Club Communications Award - Richard Ellis, ME’68
Tickets are available for members, guests and friends of the Club. For more information, call 212 628 8383 or log onto:

# # #

About The Explorers Club

The Explorers Club was founded in New York City 1904 by a group of the world’s leading explorers of the time. It is a multidisciplinary, not for profit (501c-3) organization dedicated to scientific exploration of land, sea, air, and space by supporting research and education in the physical, natural and biological sciences. The Club’s members have been responsible for an illustrious series of famous firsts: first to the North Pole, first to the South Pole, first to the summit of Mount Everest, first to the deepest point in the ocean, first to the surface of the moon. With 3,000 members worldwide, the organization is headquartered at 46 East 70th Street, New York, N.Y. 10021. Tel. 212 628 8383;

Editor’s note

The black tie Explorers Club Annual Dinner is a sold-out fund-raiser. Media on assignment are invited to cover the pre-dinner cocktail reception and speaker presentations through prior arrangement with Jeff Blumenfeld, Director of Communications, .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), 203 655 1600

Published by : cyatsuk

Bookmark and Share

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste