Forgot your password? | Register Here

The Explorers Club 2017 Awards Call for Nominations

Submissions Deadline is July 18, 2016 at 5:00pm.

The Flag and Honors Committee invites you to nominate candidates for the Explorers Club Annual Awards 2017.

You may participate by nominating those who are making exceptional contributions in the fields of exploration and scientific research, and who are dedicated to the principles of The Explorers Club as set forth in Articles II and III of the By-laws. We are seeking nominations for the following awards and honors:

The Explorers Club Medal is awarded annually to a member or nonmember for “extraordinary contributions directly in the field of exploration, scientific research, or to the welfare of humanity.” Previous recipients have included Lowell Thomas, PEX ‘28; Sylvia A. Earle, HON ‘81; Kathryn D. Sullivan, HON ‘81; Don Walsh, MED ‘61; Phillip J. Currie, MED ’02; James Cameron, MED ‘03; Walter H. Munk, MED ’71; Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ph.D.; and Fred Roots.

The Edward C. Sweeney Medal is awarded annually to a Club member in recognition of distinguished service, scientific work and exploration. The nominee must have exhibited by word and action a profound interest in the welfare and principles of The Explorers Club. The candidate must have been a Club member in good standing for a minimum of five years. Previous recipients have included Catherine Nixon Cooke, MED ‘84; Harry D. Brooks, MED ‘93; Julianne Chase, Ph.D., MED ’97; Monika Rogozinska, MED ‘93; Patrick and Rosemarie Keough, MED ’02; Bruce Blanchard, MED ’78; and Constance Difede, LM ‘01.

The Tenzing Norgay Award is awarded every four years, to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional mountaineering in the spirit of the famed sherpa Tenzing Norgay, one of the two first men to summit Mount Everest in 1953.  Past awardees have included Sharon Wood, Norman G. Dhyrenfurth, Apa Sherpa, Peter Athans, Peter E. Hillary, and Chhiring Dorje Sherpa.

The Citation of Merit is awarded annually “in recognition of an outstanding feat of exploration or services rendered to the Club.” Previous recipients include Merle G. Robertson, FN ‘90; Fredrick Selby, FE ’88; Erden Eruç, MN ’04; and Chris Nicola, FR ’04; The Apollo F-1 Engine Search and Recovery Team, led by Jeff Bezos, MN ’14; C. William Steele, FE ’79; and Edmundo Edwards, FI ‘90.

▪ The New Explorer Award is awarded to inspiring young explorers in the fields of physical, biological, and natural sciences, engineering, and resource conservation, whose work in exploration serves to broaden knowledge of all phases of the universe.

The Explorers Club Awards are intended to celebrate excellence and, except for the Sweeney Medal, are not solely limited to Explorers Club members. All submissions for award nominations must include the candidate’s curriculum vitae and exploration record and be submitted online at We cannot accept internet search engine result pages or hyperlinks for consideration.

If you have questions please contact Emerald Nash at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

The deadline for nominations is July 18, 2016, at 5:00 pm.

Click Here for guidelines to writing quality award nominations.

Click Here for a historical perspective and fascinating listing of The Explorers Club Awards and Honors.

The 2017 Awards will be presented at The Explorers Club Annual Dinner “Cold Places” at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City on March 18, 2017. Awardee nominations do not have to be tied to the theme of the dinner.

Published by : Explorers Club Staff

Bookmark and Share

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste